Media And A Memory

I remember the cube TV, the big bulky VCR,

and singing along to the songs in my memories.

Watching made-up people’s lives,

and fitting them in with my own.

That brave girl that I adored,

gave me power, and strength,

to step up with  no fear.

How to face my fears.

She knew the importance of family,

but the necessity of friends.

Had goals,

unlike the other Disney girls,

who wanted nothing but to find a prince who’ll save her life,

fall in love,

get married,

and live “Happily Ever After.”

She put her loved ones before her dreams,

and found happiness in the end.

The girl power proved to me,

that her father was wrong.

She was no disgrace,

she is the perfect daughter.

 

 

 

One thought on “Media And A Memory

  1. Mulan is a wonderful role model. In fact, she fits the pattern of the mythic hero, something we used to study in seventh grade.

    I like the way you draw the connection between characters you love and your own life. I’ve seen this before in other things you’ve written, and it’s a powerful critical thinking tool.

    Your poem is beautiful and moving.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *